Three Crucial Photography Principles

Below are examples of rule of thirds, leading lines, and depth of field. I wanted to take the time to show you some professional examples. As well, I will show you some photographs I took on my own that follow these three principles.

rule of thirds example original

Rule of Thirds

This photograph comes from the amateur photographer.co.uk website. I was unable to find out who the photographer was. The photographers name says “Amateur Photographer.” There is also no photograph included with that name. Here is the link for the website:

http://www.amateurphotographer.co.uk/technique/expert_advice/understanding-the-rule-of-thirds-4228

rule of thirds final example

This is the draw over I did for the example of rule of thirds. I think they did an excellent job at following the rule of thirds. You can see that the tree is the focal point of the photograph. The top horizontal line and the bottom horizontal line both intersect with the tree. As well, the second vertical line to the right covers the whole tree.

My example:

my rule of thirds final

I think that my photograph relates to the example because it is of nature. As well, the focal point I aimed for was the tree, just like in the original example. The difference in this one, is that the green bush on the right is also in the focal point. I wasn’t thinking of having just one particular emphasis, but a few. I think it’s a good example because your eyes automatically are drawn to the tree just as the are in the professional photo.

leading lines original example

Leading Lines

This photograph comes from the Bump Photography Lessons website. There are no specific names used in reference to who the photographer is. However, the people that own this website have another website titled thebump.com. They are also creators of The Knot and The Nest. Here is the link:

https://sites.google.com/site/bumpphotographylessons/home/a-little-background

leading lines final example

The photographer did a great job at using the principle of leading lines. I highlighted the most obvious example of leading lines, however there are still more examples of it in the photograph. The structure of the bridge draws your eyes from the bottom of the picture, out to the light where you can’t see anything. The tops of the bridge also draw your eyes straight and forward. I think what really helps too is that the way the photograph was taken, you can’t see anything but the bridge. With this affect of only seeing the bridge, you are completely drawn into it.

My example:

my leading lines edit

For my example I wanted to use leading lines that were man made. As you look at the bottom of the stairs, your attention is drawn to the University Store. I think it’s a good example of leading lines because it draws your attention up and forward. Even though the photographs aren’t exactly the same, they still share the same purpose.

depth of field original example

Depth of Field

This photo, showing the principle of depth of field comes from a website that’s run by two people. Their names are Syed Balkhi and Thomas Griffin. Syed is the CEO and Thomas is the CTO of Envira Gallery. Their website is called Envira Gallery and that’s where this photograph comes from.  I wasn’t able to find the name of the photographers mentioned, it just shared Syed and Thomas’ names. Below is the link:

http://enviragallery.com/how-to-get-shallow-depth-of-field-in-your-photos/

depth of field final example

All of this orange showcases the area that is blurred. I found it interesting that not only is the background blurred but also the foreground. It’s a fantastic affect, because it truly makes you focus on the pile of rocks and the middle area right next to it. The rocks are very clear and in focus.

My example: 

my depth of field final

Even though I couldn’t take a photograph close to the beach with nice rocks, I tried to mimic the closeness of the object of focus. I like how this cup is in the center and the whole table is a light creme color. The front of the photograph is more blurred and as you continue towards the chairs it becomes more in focus. Although you can see the chairs better than the front of the picture, it is still blurry enough to make your eyes go to the mug.

Conclusion:

Thank you for taking the time to see my examples of leading lines, depth of field, and rule of thirds. As you can see, there are many different ways that these principles can be applied in photographs. Leading lines gives you good contrast, rule of thirds draws your eyes to specific elements in the photo, and depth of field keeps you focused on one specific area. Finally, using these principles adds a much more crisp, clean, and  focused photograph.

 

Leave a Reply

