How it All Began

Hi, my name is Hollie Buys. I’m a full- time college student who enjoys people watching, eating food and watching football. I decided to make this blog to share with you the adventures of having celiac disease and being forced into the gluten free diet.

Gluten is found in wheat, rye, and barley. Or in other words, flour. It is the substance that holds food together. You can find it in most packaged food and is used as a filler.

You’re probably wondering-what is celiac disease? Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder. Every time that gluten is consumed, it attacks the lining of the small intestine making it difficult to absorb nutrients. The only way to treat this condition, is to go off of gluten for the rest of your life, to live gluten-free.

According to celiac.org, this disease affects every 1 in 100 people. And those who have a first-degree relative (parent, child, sibling) have a 1 in 10 risk of developing celiac. This, is where I come in. I come from a family where there are three of us who have celiac. My sister found out first and then my mom found out a few months after her.

I was diagnosed with celiac disease in 2012, senior year. I had been complaining of stomach pain and we truly thought it was lactose intolerance. My mom and sister had found out the year before, but we hadn’t even thought of checking to see if I had it. After several doctors’ visits they decided to do a blood test for celiac. I thought that I surely didn’t have it, but I let them do the test anyway.

When the results came back positive a week later I was in shock. Right when we got the call I had fully stocked up on Korean roman noodles. As I found out, I looked down sadly at my food. And yes, I had one more bag of roman noodles for the last time.

Leave a Reply

