My Symptoms of Celiac

The interesting thing about celiac disease is that it affects people of all ages. And just as the ages vary, the symptoms of celiac can vary as well.

I want to share with you my personal symptoms and direct you to webmd.com if you want a more thorough list of symptoms.

For me personally, I experienced a lot of upper stomach pain. My stomach would become rock solid when I ate certain foods. And it would stay that way for at least an hour.  I also experienced anxiety going to class every day. I would be nervous just to enter the room, even though there was nothing threatening about the class. And oddly enough, the anxiety of entering a classroom didn’t start until that school year.

The most prevalent sign that I have noticed though, is fatigue. I would come home from school every day and take at least a 30-minute nap. I couldn’t do homework or anything else until I had a nap, even though I was sleeping 7-8 hours every night.

According to webmd.com, teens with celiac disease might not show signs or symptoms of celiac until they are in a stressful time. I agree with this statement 100%. I was in my senior year of high school when I was diagnosed and it was a high-stress time of my life.

A few more signs that I think are super important to look out for are: bloating, itchy skin, irritability, and depression. Feel free to share these symptoms and look at the webmd.com website so that you and your friends can benefit from it.

Leave a Reply

